My Journey Starting To Learn Web Development

My Journey Starting To Learn Web Development

My first month learning HTML,CSS, & JavaScript

I first sparked an interest in becoming a web developer when one of my colleagues mentioned he was interested in doing a Bootcamp for full-stack development. He said he would do a 24-week boot camp and that he was practicing learning HTML, CSS, & JavaScript online with Coursera, Udemy, and a few other free online courses.

It interested me because I was always intrigued about how websites were made, what goes into them and how much work it takes to create websites we use daily, like Amazon, Google, Yahoo, etc. So I then did a bit of research online on YouTube about what it was like to be a web developer, their daily life, and what they do, and I fell in love with it. I had a previous programming background as I was part of a robotics team in high school, and I loved to make robots work through mazes, play music, and just some basic stuff.

I looked at a few courses online, and I signed up for a 6-week program on Coursera named 'Introduction to Web Development' I have just recently completed it, and I made a bootleg version of yelp, where you can select the type of food you like, explain why you like it and submit a review. Looking at it from an outside perspective, many people would find it super basic and easy to make, but I was very proud of what I made. I had so much fun making all of it work and look pretty, and the feeling of fixing an issue that had been an issue for hours felt unique to me.

I currently work in retail as a senior sales advisor. Our sales change every single week, and it's hard for new sales associates to recommend the correct laptops to customers, especially if the associate doesn't know too much about laptops. So I'm currently working on a bit of mini-project that categorizes the best laptops on sale and categorizes them into three groups: Entry-level, Business level, & High-end level. This way, the new associate can visit this website and already have all the information they need. The website will have stock levels, how much the computer costs, its specifications & who it's suitable for and why it's good for them.

I currently live in Canada, Ontario and I've also recently signed up for another 6-week program but this time with Lighthouse labs and their Introduction to front-end with JavaScript program. I start on July 5th and I'm super excited to expand my knowledge and eventually make this my future career.